Uterus progress and busy days

moment of calm

First of all, some good news! After my post at the end of last week, I went to see my lovely doctor and I am having my Mirena IUD removed on 14th February! The downside to this is that the only action I’ll be getting on Valentine’s Day will be from a speculum, but oh my goodness, I cannot wait to get that horrible thing out of my body and have hormones that are all my own again.

It has been a busy few days though. I did a bit of grocery shopping after my appointment with the doctor on Friday, then had work that evening. I was also working on Saturday morning, which was a bit of a nightmare cause my work day usually ends at 9pm, so having a random morning thrown into my routine messes me up hardcore. It’s necessary at the moment though, cause there are limited shifts available (no afternoons) and I can’t afford to work fewer hours than I already do. I am SO glad I work from home! I would literally not be able to do random mornings if I had to actually go into the office.

On Sunday afternoon I went with my husband to a house re-warming party. One of his clients had recently done a lot of work to their house so had a little gathering to celebrate it being finished. I had to use my walking stick cause I’ve done something icky to my knee (am I the only person in the world who can hurt themselves doing yoga? Don’t laugh!), but it was just a short outing and we drove home past the beach and stopped for a moment of calm (see photo above).

By the time we got home I was feeling pretty worn out and the left side of my face and neck were swollen and sore. I had an early night and a long sleep, but when I woke up this morning I was feeling properly achey all over and like my head was stuffed with cotton wool. Cotton wool soaked in pain. I can never tell, initially, when I feel like this if it’s regular old M.E.-related worn-myself-out kind of stuff, or if I’m actually coming down with something. Cold and flu things always manage to sneak up on me cause I feel like I have the flu pretty much all the time anyway, so when I actually have it, it comes as a bit of a surprise.

My world currently smells of wintergreen rub (AMAZING for achey muscles!) and I’m snuggled up in my onesie, with a super-soft scarf wrapped around my neck right up to my ears to keep cosy. I’ve taken some devil’s claw (awesome anti-inflammatory, which I rave about all the time, in case you hadn’t noticed) and am comforting myself with tasty cups of chai. I’m working every evening and Saturday morning this week, so at least I don’t have any full days or work to cope with and I can focus on relaxing during the day and sleeping a lot, if I need to.

Yoga (which I have actually been doing EVERY day since I started last Monday…go me!) is being reduced to maybe 5 or 10 minutes a day until I feel a bit more stable again, but it feels so worth at least trying to keep up with a little bit even when I’m feeling rotten because its been great for quieting my hyper little mind.

I’ve added a few more links to my list of Other Chronic Illness Blogs in the side bar, so if you’re looking for more stuff to read, go read those!

One thought on “Uterus progress and busy days

  1. Hi, Tanya –

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and taking the time to comment this week!

    I love your photo on this post – looks so lovely and peaceful. Sounds like you had a weekend like mine, with a social outing that wiped you out, too! lol

    I love yoga, too. I try to do about 15 minutes first thing in the morning – mainly gentle stretching on the floor. It feels so good! And on bad days, it really helps the aches.

    Sue

    Live with CFS

    Learning to Live with CFS is now on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

